Space Yacht Drops Their First DnB Compilation, ‘Critical Mass’

Space Yacht Critical Mass Vol. 1

Space Yacht taps the tastemaking talents of REAPER for the first volume of their drum and bass compilation series, Critical Mass.

Although Space Yacht might’ve become well-known for curating the sounds of house and bass music on their newly minted label, they’ve set their sights on supporting the rapidly growing drum and bass scene too. In fact, the first release from CLB and Formula on the imprint featured the sounds of the genre, and seemingly ever since then there’s been an increasing number of artists who have been captivated by or began to produce beats in that style. Now, Space Yacht is looking to help highlight some of these artists and gifted the world with the first volume of their Critical Mass series.

Out now across all platforms, and available as a free download, Critical Mass Vol. 1 offers up 14 fresh tunes that will bend your mind to the breaking point but never snap it in two. To curate these fantastic cuts, Space Yacht looked to REAPER to take on the duties and flex his own tastemaking abilities. He’s been pushing the DnB scene forward for years and graces the compilation with “RELOAD,” a collaboration with Slang Dogs.

The Critical Mass compilation is a glimpse into drum and bass’s momentous energy. One of my favorite parts about this diverse collection of music is that it can be enjoyed all the way from the warehouse to the stadium.


There are plenty of other standout tunes that are found inside the compilation as well. These range from CLB who brings forth spacey sounds on “Badboi” and Slippy who packs plenty of energy into “Could, Couldn’t” to Rebel Scum’s ominous track “Violence” and Rohaan’s Denied” which features fantastic vocal chops. AIRGLO and Reid Speed’s collaboration “Step In My Mind” is an absolute stunner, as well as Kumarion’s “Haunting” – both of these tunes help further showcase the range REAPER set off to achieve with this collection.

Listen to Critical Mass, Vol. 1 on Spotify or your preferred platform, and let us know which tune stuck out to you the most in the comments!

Stream Critical Mass, Vol. 1 on Spotify:

Critical Mass, Vol. 1 – Tracklist:

  1. REAPER & Slang Dogs – RELOAD
  2. Kumarion – Haunting
  3. Justin Hawkes – IJDK
  4. Slippy – Could, Couldn’t
  5. CLB – Bad Boi
  6. Rohaan – Denied
  7. Audioscribe – All That
  8. Rebel Scum – Violence
  9. AIRGLO & Reid Speed – Step In My Mind
  10. Poni – Night In Hell
  11. Segan – Champion
  12. Dr. Apollo – Talk 2 Me (Feat. Aly Ryan)
  13. NIK P – Everything Will Be
  14. Skellytn – Oblivion

Follow Space Yacht on Social Media:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | Twitch

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.

Leave a Reply