Joseph Ray Announces Collaborative Album with Lakou Mizik

Lakou Mizik & Joseph Ray

The latest project from NERO’s Joseph Ray sees him collaborate with Haitian band Lakou Mizik for a new album due out on Anjunadeep.

After unveiling his debut, solo EP 300 Below, it’s clear that Joseph Ray is looking to make an even bigger impact on 2021 with more dynamic soundscapes on the horizon. Departing from the bass-heavy sound that helped him make a name for himself and exploring more cinematic elements of house and techno, he’s now unveiled his latest project – a collaborative album with Haitian band Lakou Mizik called Leave The Bones.

While his previous releases have seen Joseph Ray conjure up some immersive soundscapes for listeners to explore, few have painted a picture quite as this new album intends to when it sees a full release on Anjunadeep come August 6. The creation of the album arrived almost by chance, as Ray wanted to sample the band and overlay their sound over his electronic beats. But the organic style of Lakou Mizik, who set off with the intention of showing the world the beauty of Haitian music in 2010, simply needed more room to breathe.

This led to Ray drawing up a new approach to their collaborative efforts and adding an extra layer of complexity as he began to learn how to produce for a nine-piece band. To do this, he changed the time signature to put the more complex drum patterns on display, while also incorporating sounds like conch shells and Mbrias, along with field recordings from nearly a century ago into the mix.

Today, the first taste of that result has been unveiled for the world to hear in the form of “Ogou (Pran Ka Mwen)” – the album’s lead single. First appearing on Anjunadeep 12, the song features vibrant strings, a beautiful chorus, and Haitian rhythms that further add to its worldly sound, the meaning of the track goes even deeper as it acts as a plea to the Vodou spirit of Iron and War. Paired with the track is a stunning music video that further adds depth to the natural elements used throughout the song and the rest of the album, so stay tuned for more to come!

Check out the music video for “Ogou (Pran Ka Mwen)” on YouTube or listen on your favorite platform, and preorder Leave The Bones ahead of its release later this year on Anjunadeep.

Watch Lakou Mizik & Joseph Ray – Ogou (Pran Ka Mwen) on YouTube:

Lakou Mizik & Joseph RayLeave The Bones – Tracklist:

  1. Sanba Yo Pran Pale
  2. Kite Zo A
  3. Night Drums
  4. Lamizè Pa Dous
  5. No Rival!
  6. Ogou (Pran Ka Mwen)
  7. Zeb Atè
  8. Bade Zile
  9. Nou Tout Se Moun
  10. Boukman O’
  11. Simbi Nan Dlo
  12. Ogou (Pran Ka Mwen) (Edit)
  13. Lamizè Pa Dous (Edit)
  14. Bade Zile (Edit)

Follow Joseph Ray on Social Media:

Facebook | Instagram | SoundCloud

Follow Lakou Mizik on Social Media:

Website Facebook Twitter | Instagram SoundCloud | YouTube

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.

Leave a Reply