OMNOM Delivers Self-Released EP ‘The Friendless Summer’


OMNOM delivers a slice of peacefulness during these difficult times with the release of his latest EP, The Friendless Summer.

If there’s one thing that OMNOM has become known for over the past few years, it’s been his abilities in creating smashing house tracks that light up dancefloors in an almost effortless manner. But with the current state of the world in flux and the places where he gets crowds roaring shuttered for the foreseeable future, he’s looked beyond his normal sound to explore more vibey, downtempo styles with The Friendless Summer.

Stating “It’s time to leave the club,” in a post on Twitter back in August with the announcement of The Friendless Summer, it quickly became clear that the latest EP from OMNOM was not going to be a shuffler’s delight. And within the first few seconds of lead track “Foul Mouth,” listeners are shown a different side of the house artist they’ve come to love over the years. Powered by its hypnotic beats, OMNOM weaves in spacey synths, jazzy trumpets, and vocals from PPRWRK to really make the track pop.

“Mid-Lyft Crisis” sees OMNOM tap Marshall Jefferson in for the vocals but continuing a dive into the chilled out soundscapes that could easily find their home at an after-party set or lazy day spent in a hammock. The pace picks up a tad with “Ride Yo Bike,” a collaborative track with Sammy Legs that acts as the perfect peak to the EP, even if it still carries a slower pace than what we’d normally expect from the rising star.

For the penultimate track on The Friendless Summer, OMNOM looks to fellow house artist Wyatt Marshall for “Sunday Morning” for a tune that is groovy and immediately puts you in a great state of mind. And what better way to close this chilled-out release than a fresh take of John Summit‘s “Deep End”? His version “Deeeep End” takes the song of the summer for many and transforms it into a deeper, dreamier tune with Small Lake City that offers up a moment of introspection as listeners are swept away one final time.

Listen to The Friendless Summer on Spotify or your favorite platform, and let us know what you think of this fresh release from OMNOM in the comments below!

Stream OMNOM – The Friendless Summer on Spotify:

OMNOM – The Friendless Summer – Tracklist:

  1. Foul Mouth w/ PPRWRK
  2. Mid-Lyft Crisis w/ Marshall Jefferson
  3. Ride Yo Bike w/ Sammy Legs
  4. Sunday Morning w/ Wyatt Marshall
  5. Deeeep End w/ Small Lake City
OMNOM The Friendless Summer

Connect with OMNOM on Social Media:

Facebook Twitter Instagram SoundCloud | Spotify

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.