ZHU Chills the Summer Heat with His ‘Musical Chairs Mixtape’


ZHU continues to shine brightly in 2022 after massive performances at EDC Las Vegas and Lollapalooza with the release of his latest mixtape.

GRAMMY-nominated artist ZHU has only further solidified his place at the top of the electronic music scene this year. Not only did he kick off 2022 by dropping the deluxe version of DREAMLAND, but he’s taken the stage at festivals like EDC Las Vegas and Lollapalooza while also launching his very own fashion line called NIGHTDAY. Now, during the heat of the summer, ZHU has gifted his fans with some fresh tunes to help chill them out with the release of the first Musical Chairs Mixtape on Astralwerks.

Out now across all platforms, the first volume of Musical Chairs Mixtape sees ZHU offer fans seven fresh soundscapes to explore that are atmospheric at their core. Dominating much of the tracklist are tunes that put sultry vocals and elements that perfectly fit the ambiance of a late-night lounge front and center. This is prominently heard on tracks like “The Fall,” where ZHU layers in a hypnotic guitar solo for added impact, along with “I Wonder” and “Psycho” which are both hypnotic.

Never afraid to collaborate, ZHU looked to Elderbrook for one of the mixtape’s standout tracks, “Unbothered.” Filled with piano notes that hit just right before the beat takes over control, it’s a jam that will wrap listeners around the two artists’ fingers and leave them in a stunned like state as they move to the beat. The latter half doesn’t hold back either, as the house grooves on “The Job” keep the vibe rolling strong, while “VISA” offers a twinge of R&B and “Wet” features a touch of wonky bass for added measure.

Paired with the release of Musical Chairs Mixtape (Vol. 1) is the news of ZHU’s upcoming two-night run at the iconic Red Rocks Amphitheatre this fall. Set to take place on November 11-12, tickets for these two shows go on sale via AXS on Friday, August 5 at 10am MT, so don’t sleep on them if you plan to catch him there. Additionally, ZHU will appear on Swedish House Mafia’s Paradise Again tour at stops including New York and Los Angeles.

Listen to Musical Chairs Mixtape (Vol. 1) on Spotify or your preferred platform, and let us know what your thoughts are on this release on Twitter.

Stream ZHU – Musical Chairs Mixtape (Vol. 1) on Spotify:

ZHU – Musical Chairs Mixtape (Vol. 1) – Tracklist:

  1. The Fall
  2. I Wonder
  3. Psycho
  4. Unbothered (with Elderbrook)
  5. The Job
  6. VISA
  7. Wet
ZHU Musical Chairs Mixtape (Vol. 1)

Follow ZHU on Social Media:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | YouTube

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.