Bonobo Highlights a New Direction on ‘Fragments’

Photo Credit: Grant Spanier

Bonobo signals his triumphant return with his newest album, Fragments, featuring tunes such as “Rosewood,” “Tides,” and more. 

For more than a decade, Bonobo has delivered some of the world’s most groundbreaking and unique dance music. From Dial M for Monkey and Animal Magic to the prolific Black Sands and 2014’s North Bordershis catalog extends deep into the ethos of globally-influenced dance music. Further, his album Migrationfeatured a collection of tracks steeped in sounds from every corner of the globe while maintaining easily danceable and club-ready grooves. Now, marking his first release since 2017, he delivers his gorgeous full-length album, Fragments on Ninja Tune

Bonobo’s latest album was born during the shutdown of the past two years and speaks to the emotion and the internal struggle of being away from the dancefloor while also finding new life amongst the power of collaboration. While Fragments is not entirely club-centric, his ability to tug at the heartstrings through his downtempo productions is second to none. It also features numerous collaborations from Miguel Atwood-FergusonJordan RakeiO’FlynnJamila WoodsJoji, and Kadhja Bonet.

As we look closer at Bonobo’s triumphant return, Fragments delivers his most cohesive album yet. He successfully connects the dots between easily danceable grooves, emotional vocal ballads, and modular synth productions to once again redefine his one-of-a-kind sound. It’s safe to say that he truly is in a league of his own, and this album has solidified Bonobo’s place amongst the best of all time. 

Listen to Fragments on Spotify or your preferred platform, and read on to find out what the hype is all about.

Stream Bonobo – Fragments on Spotify:

Powerful collaborations are at the core of Fragments and Bonobo leads the way with the incredibly beautiful “Polyghost.”

Featuring LA-based producer and multi-instrumentalist Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, “Polyghost” is another stunner on this release from Bonobo. This track acts as a perfect intro to Fragments and is filled with heavenly harp plucks and warm, airy strings making it impossible to not find yourself wanting to venture ever deeper.

As we take a deeper dive into the world of Fragments, five previously released singles find their home amongst a collection of brand new tunes.

The first of which, “Tides,” featuring Jamila Woods, offers up silky smooth vocals that speak to the cyclical nature and ever-changing nature of the times we are now collectively facing. At the same time, Bonobo’s expertly crafted productions deliver a gorgeous window into his newly discovered yet wonderfully familiar sound. Japanese singer-songwriter Joji soothes the soul for another sunrise-ready downtempo homerun on “From You,” while “Shadows” taps Jordan Rakei for Fragments’ first taste of chilled-out yet danceable beats and is warmly reminiscent of Bonobo’s Migration sound yet entirely fresh.

Otomo” is an early standout and one of the album’s strongest tracks where percussive heavy beats are matched seamlessly with expertly crafted strings and ghostly vocals before a massive industrial-tinged drop ignites the dancefloor. As we continue our sojourn further, Fragments’ lead single “Rosewood” is possibly the most definitive track of Bonobo’s return to the spotlight. Already finding massive success across numerous streaming platforms, this one delivers powerful dance vibes that we have all come to love so much from the mighty artist. 

Elysian” also continues to highlight Bonobo’s absolute mastery of arrangement and composition as he delves into a symphonic masterpiece reminding us that his productions do not have to be built for the dance floor to evoke powerful emotion. And while the downtempo and orchestral vibes are more than welcome on Fragments, he does finally pick up the pace on “Closer.” A warm, celestial breakbeat builds the tension before releasing into a futuristic yet refined drop that’s soaked in the colors of the sunset.

As “Age of Phase” reminds us that no one can control a dance floor like Bonobo with uplifting vocal chops, exquisite strings, and driving low end to deliver a perfect balance of refined yet danceable beats. Another strong standout that is sure to get your feet moving is “Counterpart,” with Bonobo’s signature gentle house groove that combines flawless percussion and irresistible pulsing beats. 

As we enter the final throws of Fragments, Sapien” is a tip of the cap to Bonobo’s home turf of London.

Sapien” brings forth a powerful breakbeat rhythm that harmoniously carries dreamy synth chords and futuristic sub-bass to evoke emphatic emotion from beginning to end – it’s pure, electronic music perfection. Then, Fragments curtain call comes in “Day by Day,” as soothing vocals from Kadhja Bonet remind us, “inch by inch, day by day, we’ll make this world, a better place.”

After being shut off from live events for more than a year, as complicated as that was for so many, in a way, we can be grateful for the fact that it was responsible for nourishing Bonobo’s inner creativity to create such a well thought out and cohesive album from beginning to end. Some of our strongest inspirations can often develop out of the darkest of situations. Fragments signal a fresh new direction for the esteemed producer, and we can not wait to finally experience the magic live when it hits the road later this year. 

Bonobo – Fragments – Tracklist:

  1. Polyghost (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson) 
  2. Shadows (feat. Jordan Rakei) 
  3. Rosewood 
  4. Otomo (feat. O’Flynn) 
  5. Tides (feat. Jamila Woods)
  6. Elysian
  7. Closer 
  8. Age of Phase 
  9. From You (feat. Joji)
  10. Counterpart 
  11. Sapien
  12. Day by Day (feat. Kadhja Bonet) 
Bonobo - Fragments

Follow Bonobo on Social Media:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | InstagramSoundCloud | YouTube

It was a decade ago that Logan Garrison, better known as DJ Lo_G, first took the stage to spin sets for crowds in the snowy towns of Lake Tahoe and Aspen. Originally spinning sounds in the realm of glitch and bass music, he began to develop a passion for all things house as he returned to his hometown and hasn’t looked back since. Over the years, DJ Lo_G has become a fixture in the Aspen nightlife scene as he has found a home at Belly Up and regularly warms up the stage for some of dance music’s biggest artists like The Chainsmokers, Chris Lake, Slow Magic, Nora En Pure, and most recently ZHU. Joining the EDM Identity team back in 2018, he’s dug even deeper into dance music and the festival scene. Whether he’s covering events like Mysteryland and shows in Aspen, interviewing artists like Hannah Wants, and reviewing fresh releases, his passion for the entire community shines throughout.

Leave a Reply