Jon Gurd Roars with Debut LP on Anjunadeep, ‘Lion’

Jon Gurd
Photo Credit: Dan Reid Photography

UK-based DJ and producer Jon Gurd stirs up emotions with his latest masterpiece, a ten-track album called Lion that’s out now on Anjunadeep.

Since first breaking onto the scene in the mid-2000s, Jon Gurd has made a name for himself in the realm of house and techno by releasing powerful tunes that have found a home on imprints like Octopus Records and Last Night On Earth. Now, he’s found his way to legendary label Anjunadeep with Lion, a ten-track album that will sweep listeners off their feet and whisk them off to a far off world of his creation.

While previous releases from Jon Gurd have been marked by driving techno and hypnotic tech house grooves, Lion sees him explore the sounds of electronica and melodic house. Deeply personal at its core, the inspiration for this album has roots a decade ago in the life-changing experiences of his older brother’s suicide and son’s diagnosis of severe epilepsy which altered the course of his career. In fact, it was the release of After It All on Sasha’s label that helped push him forward and re-spark his creativity.

I was extremely fragile, trying to piece my life back together after what you could probably describe as a complete nervous breakdown, not sure of my sound or what I was trying to achieve, but was just going with the feeling… Getting that EP signed kind of made me sit up and take notice. It felt as though a clear path was forming. This led me to make the album Lion, and when I look back on my career in many year’s time maybe releasing Lion on Anjunadeep will be the big milestone, let’s see. It certainly feels as exciting!

Jon Gurd

Stirring up internal emotions of love, loss, and his own progression through life’s hurdles, Lion showcases the years of production experience that Jon Gurd carries with him. Tracks like “Together,” “Star,” “Goodbye,” and “Love” provide a comforting hug, which is more than welcome during these uncertain times, but each song on the album blends seamlessly into the next to make it a journey well worth taking from start-to-finish.

It’s totally surreal for Lion to finally be out in the world. It feels like a culmination of 10 years. Thank you to my family for putting up with me, to people that have supported the music, and to Anjunadeep for believing in it and working hard on it. For anyone out there who is struggling in any way, Lion is especially written for you. Thank you.

Jon Gurd

Press play on Lion below or your favorite platform to immerse yourself in the serene soundscapes of Jon Gurd’s creation. Additionally, Gurd is raising funds for KIDS, a charity in the UK that helps disabled children and has provided support for him and his son Jamie. More details can be found on the JustGiving website.

Stream Jon Gurd – Lion on Spotify:

Jon Gurd – Lion – Tracklist:

  1. Love
  2. Together
  3. Goodbye
  4. Lion
  5. Star
  6. See It
  7. District
  8. Endless
  9. You Are
  10. The Dream
Jon Gurd Lion

Follow Jon Gurd on Social Media:

Facebook Twitter | Instagram SoundCloud

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.