Kaytranada Soothes and Stimulates with ‘BUBBA’

Kaytranada BUBBA

Kaytranada has brought together a variety of vibes with his new album BUBBA, which features a slew of staple vocalists and infectious instrumentals.

Kaytranada is an artist who has become well-known in both the hip-hop and dance music communities, mainly for his ability to blur the line between them. He began making music moves in 2010, and has since proved himself a certified beat-head with a seemingly effortless ability to execute styles all over the spectrum.

Since stepping on the scene he’s dished out a variety of EPs and mixtapes, and the freshly-dropped masterpiece Bubba is certainly statement worthy. As a follow-up to his breakout album 99.9%, anticipation fora fresh release from Kaytranada has been brewing for quite some time.

Related: Want to catch Kaytranada live? Don’t sleep on his performance at BUKU next March!

Weighing in at a whopping 17 tracks, this project features one hell of a vocalist lineup, including Pharrell Williams, GoldLink, Estelle, Tinashe and more, and there’s even a brand-new banger with Kali Uchis called “10%”. Of course, all of these stunners are backed by Kaytranada’s sublime beats as well.

Listen to Bubba on Spotify below, stream and purchase it now on all platforms, and keep scrolling to snag a closer look into the album!

Stream Kaytranada – BUBBA on Spotify:

The album starts off instantly energized with the first track “DO IT”, complete with a salsa-like essence and tantalizing tribal tones.

That energy is followed by “2 The Music” featuring Iman Omari. Its bumping bassline is balanced out with the perfect amount of bounce and is a reminder to stop, digest, and appreciate the delicious tune being dished out. Up next is “Go DJ” featuring SiR, and his sensual vocals vibrate alongside sexy futuristic melodies, making this song a perfect accompaniment to any poppin’ party.

“Gray Area” that features Mick Jenkins provides a wavy, retro feel, while “Puff Lah” satisfies with smooth horns that build into an upbeat house vibe.

Kali Uchis’ soulful chords steal the spotlight in “10%,” while the bright soundscapes beautifully complete her blunt story-telling. Masego’s clean-cut creativity pairs pristinely with Kaytra’s mesmerizing melodies for “Need It,” wielding the ultimate dynamic duo.

Aptly named “Taste,” this song featuring VanJess combines a rich R&B feel with an electrified house vibe, making sure all palates are satiated. “Oh No” with Estelle is an emotionally-provoking, somber yet sexy song that will undoubtedly have you saying “oh yeah”, followed by “What You Need” that sees him work with Charlotte Day Wilson for an entrancing groove highlighted with chill house.

Kaytranada maintains originality all the way through the album, paying homage to his colorful roots through a variety of styles and tones.

Vex Oh” taps into the afro-beats style and features a terrific trio of artists, Ari PenSmith, GoldLink and Eight9fly, each bearing a bold attitude that adds character to the track. Contrary to the track’s title, “Scared To Death” offers a soothing and serendipitous melody with a touch of funky fusion, and “Freefall” brings in Durand Bernarr and follows closely behind with its whimsical essence.

The enchanting voice of Teedra Moses paints “Culture” with a stroke of angelic beauty, giving life to the chill beats behind the piece, as is the same for the following song “The Worst In Me” with Tinashe. “September 21” has an almost ethereal lofi hip-hop feel to it, and the album finishes off strong with the invigorating and funky “Midsection,” featuring the legendary Pharrell Williams. The catchy chorus and upbeat instrumentals will surely get stuck in your head, and you won’t even be mad.

Overall, this album is another stunner that proves Kaytranada is one of the best in the music scene today. The dynamic sound and fantastic features really pack a punch, making BUBBA an album that I’ll surely be revisiting for some time to come.

Kaytranada BUBBA

Kaytranada – BUBBA – Tracklist:

  1. DO IT
  2. The Music feat. Iman Omari
  3. Go DJ feat. SiR
  4. Gray Area feat. Mick Jenkins
  5. Puff Lah
  6. 10% feat. Kali Uchis
  7. Need It feat. Masego
  8. Taste feat. VanJess
  9. Oh No feat. Estelle
  10. What You Need feat. Charlotte Day Wilson
  11. Vex Oh feat. GoldLink, Eight9fly, & Ari PenSmith
  12. Scared To Death
  13. Freefall feat. Durand Bernarr
  14. Culture feat. Teedra Moses
  15. The Worst In Me feat. Tinashe
  16. September 21
  17. Midsection feat. Pharrell Williams

Follow Kaytranada on Social Media:

Website | Facebook Twitter | InstagramSoundCloud | YouTube

Leave a Reply