What So Not Drops Lead Single Off Forthcoming Album ‘Anomaly’

What So Not
Photo Credit: Jonti Shepherd

What So Not teams up with Oliver Tree and Killer Mike for his latest single, “Mr Regular,” the first to arrive off his upcoming album Anomaly.

What So Not has only continued to impress his fans around the world ever since first stepping foot onto the scene and now he’s back with another fresh release for fans to feast on. Earlier this month he began beefing with Oliver Tree on social media, causing everyone to wonder what was actually happening between the two artists – but today the answer arrived when What So Not dropped “Mr Regular,” which also sees Killer Mike join in on the fun.

Out now across all platforms, “Mr Regular” is a tune that puts What So Not‘s sound design and innate ability to produce catchy riffs on full display. First heard via leaks that landed online, this tune is one that’s been long-awaited, especially after the recent social media posts by What So Not and Oliver Tree. “It’s one of the biggest songs I’ve ever been part of, tied up in red tape for too long,” he said “I know how much the fans and community want this one.”

The stunning production that backs the track is only further accentuated by Oliver Tree’s vocals and additional production elements, as well as the flow from Killer Mike, that truly takes it to the next level. All three artists have deep histories with each other, with What So Not working with Oliver Tree in the early days of his career and his work with Killer Mike also being prominent as well.

I showed Mike the demo after working on a bootleg/remix for his project Run The Jewels. “Mr. Regular” is about the difficulty that we face through our childhood and career progression as clueless superior figures try to control and shape our path.

What So Not

But that’s not all that fans of What So Not can salivate over as the Australian artist paired the release of “Mr Regular” with the news of his forthcoming album Anomaly. Due out in September, this body of work was inspired by his travels around the world prior to the pandemic and the exploration of sounds he experienced, all wrapped up into a tight, 11-track feature-filled collection. Anomaly also highlights What So Not’s passion for addressing non-music issues in his work as well, such as fostering a better tomorrow for our planet.

Spending time in so many different countries, communities and cultures was such a reality check. We are so fractured and preconditioned to falsities. We have to care about our community and environment, and do what we can in our own circles to collectively protect and benefit everything outside of it. I spent a year travelling the world and exploring sounds. COVID then had me back home, honing in and refining my sonic comprehension. Anomaly is a journey that ruptures reality in order to realise the potential of our own existence. It’ll also feature some of the greatest friends and sound experimenters that I’ve come across in my life.

What So Not

Listen to “Mr Regular” on Spotify or your preferred platform, and make sure to pre-order or pre-save Anomaly ahead of its release on September 16.

Stream What So Not, Oliver Tree, and Killer Mike – Mr Regular on Spotify:

What So Not – Anomaly – Tracklist:

  1. Alive
  2. Anomaly (feat. AY AY)
  3. Mr. Regular (feat. Oliver Tree, Killer Mike)
  4. The Change (feat. DMA’S)
  5. Halifax (feat. ZOID LAND, Phi11a, Tek Genesis)
  6. On Air (feat. Louis The Child, Captain Cuts, JRM)
  7. Messin’ Me Up (feat. EVAN GIIA)
  8. Bad Piano (feat. Body Ocean, Lucy Lucy)
  9. Mercy (2022 Edit feat. MØ)
  10. Black Shallow (feat. Enschway)
  11. As One (feat. Herizen)
What So Not, Oliver Tree, Killer Mike - Mr Regular

Follow [Artist Name] on Social Media:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud | YouTube | Twitch

Grant Gilmore’s authoritative voice as a media professional lends credibility not common to EDM journalism. As the founder of EDM Identity he has effectively raised the bar on coverage of the past decade’s biggest youth culture phenomenon. After ten years of working for nonprofit organization Pro Player Foundation, Gilmore launched EDM Identity as a media outlet offering accurate informative coverage of the rave scene and electronic music as a whole. Although they cover comprehensive topic matter, they have taken special care in interviewing the likes of Armin van Buuren, Adventure Club, Gorgon City, Lane 8 and Afrojack. In addition to household names, they have also highlighted unsung heroes of the industry through their ID Spotlight segment. Whether he’s covering it or not, you can expect to find Grant Gilmore attending the next big electronic music event. To find out what’s next on his itinerary, follow him via the social links below.

Leave a Reply