Cosmo’s Midnight Announces Groovy Sophomore Album

Cosmo's Midnight

Ahead of the release of Yesteryear that’s due out in October, Cosmo’s Midnight delivers a Brame & Hamo club-ready remix of the title track!

On October 2, Cosmo’s Midnight is set to release their long-awaited sophomore album Yesteryear. The album will be showcasing a new chapter for this Sydney-based duo that has blossomed with a stylistic blend of disco, funk, and psychedelia atop masterful songwriting and production.

“Yesteryear,” which was released in June, gave us a small taste of what their album has in store. The infectious ’70s inspired groove has already amassed more than a million streams on Spotify and was a solid follow-up to the first single, “Down For You,” that features the buttery-smooth vocals of Ruel.

Our second album is more or less summed up in the title track ‘Yesteryear’. It’s about reflecting on the past with not only nostalgia but also an element of melancholia ~ all the formative experiences that we absorb growing up both good and bad. It’s an album inspired by personal growth, looking back on these experiences, learning from them, and moving forward with optimism. Stylistically we have always looked back to genres our parents introduced to us growing up; disco, funk, psychedelia, alt-pop of the 70s and 80s. In ‘Yesteryear’ we have honed in on that, moving away from overly produced sounds to more organic instrumentation, focused on feeling rather than thinking.”

Cosmo’s Midnight

Now, ahead of the album’s release, Brame & Hamo have whipped up an electric dancefloor remix of “Yesteryear” for your listening pleasure. The Berlin-based duo takes the disco groove and transforms it into a dark, techno powerhouse. Holding firm to the retro, euphoric melodies they add punchy breakbeats and atmospheric synths to the funky bass, completely rewiring this track. 

“Remixing Cosmo’s Midnight was a lot of fun for us. We wanted to make it a euphoric nostalgic journey by dubbing out the original guitars and vocals. We used lots of space effects and slappy breakbeats to keep the track driving but melodic.”

Brame & Hamo

There is no doubt that this 12-track LP will deliver all of the nostalgic, retro-feels we just can’t get enough of. Until then, we’ll be getting our much-needed nightclub fix with Brame & Hamo’s remix. Listen to the Brame & Hamo remix of “Yesteryear” on Spotify below, download or stream the track on your favorite platform, and don’t forget to pre-save the album ahead of its release on October 2!

Stream Cosmo’s Midnight – Yesteryear (Brame & Hamo Remix) on Spotify:

Cosmo’s Midnight –Yesteryear – Tracklist:

  1. Unwind
  2. Yesteryear
  3. It’s Love (feat. Matthew Young)
  4. Have It All (feat. Age.Sex.Location)
  5. Ice (feat. Stevan)
  6. A Million Times
  7. Down For You (with Ruel)
  8. The Get Down
  9. Time Wasted
  10. Idaho
  11. C.U.D.I. (Can You Dig It)
  12. We Could Last Forever
Cosmo's Midnight Yesteryear

Follow Cosmo’s Midnight on Social Media:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram SoundCloud

Alexis discovered electronic music in high school but really fell in love with the culture once she started attending festivals. Now with over 20 festivals under her belt, she has grown to love a range of genres. She especially enjoys the underground techno and house scene Los Angeles has to offer. As a photographer, Alexis is constantly inspired by the vibrant people she meets and aims to capture the magic she experiences.

Leave a Reply