Maya Jane Coles Announces Double LP ‘Take Flight’

Maya Jane Coles Take Flight

On August 25, Maya Jane Coles will release her long-awaited second full-length album, Take Flight, on her own I/AM/ME imprint via Skint Records.

Maya Jane Coles is not your typical producer. With a long history innovative productions and electrifying live sets under her belt, August 25 marks the latest chapter with the release of her second full-length album, Take Flight. The album is the follow-up to 2013’s Comfort and her 2015 Nocturnal Sunshine project, and album promises to deliver “an eclectic selection of immersive tracks that are certain to excite old and new fans alike.”

In typical fashion, Coles took on every bit of work that went into the album, including writing, producing, engineering, arranging, mixing, and performing each and every track, even designing the artwork herself. At 24 tracks, Take Flight is her most ambitious work to date and will be released as a double album. Several of the tracks also feature guest appearances, including acoustic songwriter Chelou on “Darkside,” We Fell To Earth singer Wendy Rae Fowler on “A Chemical Affair” and “Misty Morning,” and Rachel Butt from GAPS on “Keep Me Warm.”

Maya Jane Coles 'Take Flight'

The album is preceded by her Won’t Let You Down EP, which has already received significant critical acclaim and support from DJs from around the world. The lead single, “Won’t Let You Down,” is a moody, contemplative masterpiece. It features an ethereal vocal overlaid atop a lush blend of discordant synths and guitar arpeggios, with an uptempo groove that keeps it moving. It’s no wonder it was selected by Pete Tong as his “Essential New Tune.” Coles will also release the Weak/Werk EP ahead of the album’s release, featuring more tracks from Take Flight. If the first few tracks are any indication of what’s to come, we can’t wait to hear the next installment.

Stream Maya Jane Coles Won’t Let You Down EP on SoundCloud:

Pre-order or pre-save Take Flight and receive an automatic download of “Cherry Bomb” and “Won’t Let You Down” when you pre-order on iTunes.

Maya Jane Coles – Take Flight – Tracklist:
  1. Weak
  2. Bo & Wing
  3. Old Jam
  4. Take Flight
  5. Darkside feat. Chelou
  6. Lucky Charm
  7. Blackout
  8. Unholy
  9. A Chemical Affair feat. Wendy Rae Fowler
  10. Misty Morning feat. Wendy Rae Fowler
  11. Keep Me Warm feat. GAPS
  12. Let You Go
  13. Won’t Let You Down
  14. On My Way
  15. Go On And Make It Through
  16. Cherry Bomb
  17. Chasing Sunshine
  18. Golden Days
  19. Werk
  20. Passing Me By
  21. Trails
  22. Stay
  23. Pulse
  24. Starlight

Follow Maya Jane Coles on social media:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud

Erin has been listening to electronic music on and off since the early 2000s, which is when trance music captured her heart and soul. Over the years, she has expanded into a number of other styles and genres, especially techno and house. Originally from Chicago, she spent the better part of the last decade seeking out any electronic music she could find, and traveled the length of the country in search of some incredible moments at festivals like EDC, TomorrowWorld, and the Dirtybird Campout. Having since settled in Denver, she focuses her energies primarily on the house and techno scene around town and traveling to mountain and west coast festivals whenever possible.