BT ‘_’ to be released October 14th

Pre-order _ (digital with three compositions)  HERE

Pre-order _ (physical with nine compositions and video companion)  HERE

Note: If you purchase the downloadable version of the album, you will be given the first three compositions broken into micro compositions which total 25 songs. The physical box copy comes with all nine compositions and the video component

Brian Transeau, known in the music word as “BT” has a discography lined with groundbreaking and visionary music such as “IMA” “ESCM” and “Movement In Still Life.” Now he’s gearing up for a more experimental release in a similar vein to “This Binary Universe” and “If Stars Were Eternal.” In true BT form, there is wonder and mystery even in the name of the album. ‘Dash’? ‘Underscore’? ‘X’? ‘The Album With No Name’?! Right now, there’s no right or wrong way to articulate the title of _. It’s open to interpretation. Yours to reference, entirely as you will.

In his Facebook AMA, BT states that the album is inspired by his recent worldwide travels. The tracks are ethereal and dramatic and as a BT fan myself, I would not have expected anything less. With a trace of Future Sound of London and an evident edge of John Cage, it’s assembled, classically, into 6 tracks, bridged by 3 Movements. In this release, BT’s sound engineering ability truly shines.

Watch the trailer for BT’s “Artifacture” off of  ‘_’ here:

Linking the album’s tracks are its “Artifacture'” “Indivism” & “Ω” Movements which are BT’s modernist take on the classical composition structure. Each track can be taken individually but collectively they make up a 25 section sequence of “inter-compositional-themes;” a 45-minutes creation of constantly flowetry that will track you on a musical journey around BT’s world. Every section/movement is represented by an Italian language subtitle. Through metaphor and wordplay, each one relates to what is occurring musically within the composition. For example,  “Artifracture”’s middle section bridge is made up of “La Vita Sotto il Mare” and “Niente di Tutto Qualcosa” (or “Life Under the Sea” and “Nothing, Everything, Something”).

Each piece comes with a visual companion shot by BT himself. Each, in someway, either inspires the location of the video, or its location has inspired the music.  Location, itself, plays a substantial part in the culture of the album too. Some are as easy to decipher as Tokyo and Found in Translation (both recorded primarily in Japan) but some are more complicated or subtly suggestive. For example, the composition of ‘Artifracture’ alone, took place in studios located in countries on all 7 continents.

BT _

This album will heighten your senses on multiple levels. The first, as a dazzlingly magical technological accomplishment. The other, as a multimedia enigma where each listen brings new levels of interpretation, enjoyment and appreciation.

Whichever way you choose to absorb it, one thing’s for certain: BT has delivered again.

BT ‘_’ Track/Movement list

  1. Tokyo
  2. The Code Of Hammurabi
  3. Lustral
  4. Lost In Translation
  5. Artifracture
  6. Indivisim
  7. Ω
  8. Chromatophore
  9. Five Hundred and Eighty Two

Follow BT on Social Media:

Website | Facebook Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud

Follow Black Hole Recordings on Social Media:

Website | Facebook Twitter | SoundCloud

Abisola has been listening to electronic music since middle school. Though she enjoys a variety of sub-genres she currently mainly listens to trance and hardcore. Abisola has attended multiple events in the Southern California region and is beginning to expand to out-of-area and international festivals. She is a full-time school psychologist and also enjoys eating, traveling and video games.


      • I was actually referring to the titling of the track names, but that anecdote about the album title seems like it tracks.

        Apple. 😉

        I am not watching the videos. In fact b before reading your write-up, I didn’t even know that the full work was actually 9 movements. I’m going to go ahead and order that box that now, thank you!

        Random story; I saw BT at sound-bar in Chicago in 2006 or 07 right around the time that TBU was released. It was one of his Laptop Symphony shows. He opened his set in a pitch-black club, with only the acapella from Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On” started playing over the PA.

        I knew at that moment my life was about to change, and it did. I had never experienced a set like what he played that night. I can’t out into words the tapestry of music that man wove together that night. It remains one of my most powerful musical/spiritual experiences of my life.

        My love affair with BT started decades ago, on a dancefloor, with this song:

Leave a Reply